Council on Veterans Programs

Meeting minutes – September 15, 2022, 10:00am Wisconsin Veterans Museum, 30 W Mifflin Street, Madison

Council Members present:

American Legion Dept. of WI
American Red Cross
County Veteran Service Officers Assoc.
Disabled American Veterans
Jewish War Veterans of the USA.
Marine Corps League
Military Officers Assoc. of America
Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA)
Polish Legion of American Veterans
Retired Enlisted Assoc.
United Women Veterans, Inc.
VFW of WI
Vietnam Veterans of America, Inc.
Wisconsin American GI Forum
WI Assoc of Concerned Veteran Org.
Wisconsin Vietnam Veterans, Inc.

Others Present: (not inclusive)

Jordan Tilleson - VFW Al Labelle - DAV

WDVA Staff Present:

Mary Kolar, Secretary James Bond, Deputy Secretary Kathy Still, Assist. Deputy Secretary Kelly Behling, OOS

Absent:

William Lobeck	Military Order of the Purple Heart
Dave Schmidt	AMVETS
William Sims	National Assoc. for Black Veterans, Inc.

Inactive Council Organizations:

American Ex-Prisoners of War Army and Navy Union of the United State of America Blinded Veterans Association of Wisconsin Catholic War Veterans of the U.S.A. Navy Club of the U.S.A. US Submarine Veterans of World War II Vietnam Veterans Against the War, Inc.

Chair Larry Hill called the meeting to order at 10:02am. Roll call was taken a quorum was present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Certification of Notice of Meeting was confirmed; the meeting was certified as being properly noticed.

Minutes from June 23, 2022 were reviewed; Vern Larsen made a motion to approved the minutes, second byGeorge Banda; minutes were unanimously approved.

Secretary Kolar provided an agency update to the council.

Assistant Deputy Secretary Kathy Still provided a Legislative update to the council.

Member reports were shared with the Council.

Election of Officers:

<u>Chair</u>: Kim Queen made a motion to nomiate Larry Hill as Chair. Dave Zien second the motion; motion passed on a unanimous vote. Larry Hill accepted the Chair position.

<u>Vice Chair</u>: Michael Furgal made a motion to nominate Lester Bischoff as Vice Chair. Kim Queen second the motion; motion passed on a unanimous vote. Lester Bischoff has accepted the Vice Chair position.

<u>Secretary</u>: Colin Moten made a motion to nominate Nellie DeBaker as Secretary. Michael Furgal second the motion; motion passed on a unanimouse vote. Nellie DeBaker has accepted the Secretary position.

Public Input: Jordan Tillesen, VFW introduced himself to the Council, discussed future opportunities with work with the Council.

Al Labelle, DAV discussed a future event at the Capitol "Veterans Day" anticipated to be scheduled in 2023.

Motion to adjourn: George Banda made a motion to adjourn the meeting; Vern Larson second the motion; motion passed on a unanimous vote; meeting adjourned at 12:22pm.

Respectfully submitted, Larry Hill, Chair

Approved 12.15.22