# MINUTES EQUITY AND INCLUSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE Meeting of July 24, 2024 TEAMS Meeting

#### **Members**

Others Present (not all inclusive)
No public participants

Alexis Madson - Present

Melissa Becker - Present

Leslie Busby-Amegashie - Veterans Benefits/Grants - Present

Lane Dombrowski – Veterans Homes - Absent

 $Ilona\ Grawvunder\ \textbf{-}\ Veterans\ Homes-Absent}$ 

Kelly Harrison - Present

Kristy Hartke - Veterans Benefits/Cemeteries - Present

 $Dawn \ LaFond-Present$ 

Andrea Northwood - Absent

Amy Millard - Veterans Benefits - Present

Patrick Meyer - Veterans Homes - Present

Chandler Miller - Veterans Benefits/Health Services - Absent

Shannon Miller - Public Affairs - Present

Justine Moffat – Enterprise Services – Absent

Matt Niehaus - Enterprise Services - Present

Marina Johnstone – Veterans Benefits/Cemeteries - Present

Jamie Petersen-Johnson – Veterans Homes - Absent

Seth Reynolds – Veterans Benefits/Health Services – Absent

Jennifer Van Haaften – Veterans Museum - Present

Kris Ward – Enterprise Services - Present

Racheal Harris – Human Resources – Non-Voting - Absent

Jennifer Ginter-Lyght - Human Resources - Non-Voting - Present

Victoria Simonson - Human Resources - Non-Voting - Present

## **WDVA Present**

Chris McElgunn

Total Voting Membership present: 13

Total Attendees: 16

Total Voting Membership: 16
Necessary for Quorum: 9

#### 1. Call to order, roll call

The meeting of the Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee was called to order by Shannon Miller at 2:03 PM. Roll was called and a quorum was present.

### 2. Certification of notice of meeting

The meeting was notified as being properly noticed.

#### 3. Adoption of January 21, 2024 Meeting Minutes:

The January 21, 2024 meeting minutes of the old Cultivating Culture Committee were circulated via email. No discussion were had pertinent to the minutes.

Motion to adopt: Matthew Niehaus Seconded: Leslie Busby-Amegashie Motion passed by unanimous vote.

# 4. Subcommittee chair reports:

Matt reported that the Recruitment Committee has had meetings to discuss the E&I plan and move forward on tracking metrics. Committee members have addressed Job Fairs at the most recent meeting.

Shannon reported on the Retention Committee's work, including the work with the in-office staff meeting. She discussed some reporting from

Leslie reported that the Diversity Committee has met with Jen to discuss newsletter items. They have also conducted their skit and have a recording of the video ready.

#### 5. Old Business:

Jennifer Ginter-Lyght discussed the E&I plan and roles and responsibilities of officers. She reported that, to remain compliant, we likely need to have monthly meetings for most of the year.

Chris McElgunn addressed the election of officers and the importance of the committee's future movement.

#### **Election of Officers**

Leslie Busby-Amegashie nominated, seconded by Matt Niehaus and Kristy Hartke, to nominate Amy Millard for Chair. Motion passed unanimously.

Amy Millard nominated, seconded by Melissa Becker, to nominate Dawn LaFond for Co-Chair. Motion passed unanimously.

Amy Millard nominated, seconded by Matt Niehaus, to nominate Kristy Hartke for Secretary. Motion passed unanimously.

Matt and Leslie will begin working to transfer their roles over for their respective subcommittees. Amy Millard will immediately take over the Retention Committee.

## 6. New Business:

The new officers reintroduced themselves to the Committee.

## 7. Public Input:

Chris McElgunn thanked the committee for its continued work and stated that he looks forward to working with the new officers.

## 8. Future Agenda items:

Shannon proposed we plan to have the following days to close out the remainder of the year: August 28<sup>th</sup>, September 25<sup>th</sup>, October 30<sup>th</sup>, December 4<sup>th</sup>

# 9. Adjournment

Kristy Hartke, seconded by Matthew Niehaus, moved to adjourn the meeting at 2:38 PM. Motion carried on a unanimous vote.

Matthew Niehaus, Secretary