Woman Veteran of the Year

​​​​WDVA Wisconsin Woman of the Year Award

The Wisconsin Woman Veteran of the Year Award recognizes women veterans who have compiled a record of exemplary service as a military service member, a veteran, and outstanding member of the community. The Woman of the Year Nomination Form​​ must be received no later than September 1, 2018.​  

2018 W​oman Veteran of the Year – Kim Graff, Milton

US Marine Corps Veteran Kimberly Graff, Milton, has been named the 2018 Wisconsin Woman Veteran of the Year. Graff enlisted in the Marines two years after graduating from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls and two years to the day following the unexpected death of her first husband. She became a Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Defense Specialist in March 2013 and trained alongside the Secret Service in Washington D.C. She deployed to the South Pacific and Australia.

Graff remarried (her husband is also a Marine,)​ moved back to Wisconsin, and had a daughter. She retired from the military earlier this year and now serves as a wife and mother to their child and her two stepchildren. 

Graff was selected to receive the Wisconsin Woman Veteran of the Year award for her work to advocate for protections for military families as service members are away on duty, an issue that she took up following her husband’s struggle with the family court system and child placement. She created the “Protecting Military Families in Wisconsin advocacy group and is working to pass the Deployed Parent Custody and Visitation Act in the Wisconsin State Legislature. It currently sits with the Legislative Study Committee on Child Placement and Support and has bipartisan backing. Graff has worked with various Veterans groups and has helped raise money for homeless women Veterans. She will earn her Master’s Degree next year in humanities and currently works as a Special Education Paraprofessional in the Milton School District.

2017: Connie Walker of Madison, United States Navy
2016: Cindy Brosig of Sun Prairie, United States Air Force
2015: Denise Rohan of Verona, United States Army
2014: Jennifer Sluga of Waunakee, United State Army
2012: Nancy Kaczor of Franklin, United States Air Force
2011: Holly Hoppe of ​Oconto, United States Air Force
2010: Jessica Maple of Mosinee, ​United States Air Force
2009: Connie Allord of Madison, United States Marine Corps